Aug 17, 2019  
2018-2019 Catalog 
2018-2019 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Social Science Division

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Division Chair Mary Pettenger

The Social Science Division is responsible for majors and minors in Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Geography, History, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, Social Science, Social Science Teacher Education, Sociology and Sustainability.

The following minors are taught either wholly or partially, by this division: Community Services, Homeland Security and Community Preparedness, Legal Studies, Latino/Chicano Studies, Environmental Studies, Film Studies, Gender Studies, International Studies, Latin American Studies and Military Science.


This community of scholars explores the society’s many dimensions by using methods developed by their discipline to understand both the past and the present. Division graduates apply these methods to resolving local, national and international issues.

Program objectives

  1. Develop critical thinking, writing and speaking skills that analyze and communicate social issues.
  2. Engage in research, internships and practicums for service agencies and schools.
  3. Encourage leadership in addressing institutional, community and national issues.

For more detailed program information about coursework, faculty and admission requirements, call 503-838-8288 or go

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences